Rebecca Wilton/Sven Johne
Sunny Moon
February 18th – March 5th, 2011, Klemm's showroom 7d5e


german

 

 

REFLECTIONS OF AN ECHO WALL

Sunmoonsunmoonsunmoon. To me it's just a blink, to you it's night and day. Apparently you all disappear over night.

It's not my way, to begin on my own. I'm kind of a copy-cat. But when no one shows up anymore, what's left for me to do? I did get used to your voices, to your "Hello"s, your yodels, and the high ranking "Who are you?"

One time one of your smart alecks came. He asked "You or me, who has no autonomy?" That was mean. I had to answer "me". However — what is superior than an echo wall? If you look at it literally, the "me" that reflected back to him was not my "me", but his. Did you really think you could hear me? Or do you want to hear yourselves? Yourselves in me?

You've hardly begun thinking of something, and it disappears. I thought about the glacier that covered me, and it melted. I asked myself, what do these big animals at my feet live on, and the last one of them fell down, with a big "thud." ..."udd!" I said. Then that was over as well.

Then you came. First on foot, then in busses. At the beginning it was amusing. The perpetual shouting. As if you wanted to teach me to speak, like a colorful bird. I admit it, at some point I was annoyed. Recently when another one of these busses parked underneath me I thought, soon they'll be climbing up and yelling at you. The car radio below was on and playing a commercial. A shrill voice sang, "Everything must go!" I had to answer. "Go!" rang through the valley. And again, "Go! go! go!" Maybe this time I let it get too loud. The hikers froze. The radio went silent. They ran away and vanished. Since then I have never heard from you again.

At the beginning you still think it's your own fault. However, everything must pass. You, and eventually me. Maybe some colorful bird will come around again and shout your "Hello!" at me. Maybe his offspring. But then it will become quiet for good. The silence, which I am a part of, makes me shudder. It will remain. Sunmoonsunmoonsunmoon.

Sebastian Orlac, Berlin 2011

 

 

 

Sven Johne and Rebecca Wilton, Playground, 2011, laserprints, detail

 

Sven Johne, Traumhotels, 2011, C-Prints und Text

 

Rebecca Wilton, Lichter, 2010, 81 s/w-Dias

Rebecca Wilton/Sven Johne
Sunny Moon
18.02. – 05.03.2011 Klemm's showroom 7d5e


english

 

 

REFLEXIONEN EINER ECHOWAND

Sonnemondsonnemondsonnemond. Für mich ist es ein Blinzeln, für euch Tag und Nacht. Über Nacht, so scheint es, seid ihr alle verschwunden...

Es ist nicht meine Art, alleine anzufangen. Ich plappere nur nach. Wenn aber niemand mehr kommt, was bleibt mir übrig? Ich hatte mich schon an eure Stimmen gewöhnt, an eure "Hallos", Jodler und immer wieder den "Bürgermeister von Wesel".

Einmal kam von euch so ein Schlauberger. Er fragte: "Du oder ich, wer lebt abhängig?" Das war gemein. Ich musste "Ich" antworten. Dabei – was ist erhabener, als eine Echowand? Wenn man es genau nimmt, war das "Ich", das ihm entgegenschlug, nicht meines, sondern seins. Dachtet ihr wirklich, ihr könntet mich hören? Oder wolltet ihr euch selbst hören? Euch in mir?

Kaum fängt man an, über eine Sache nachzudenken, ist sie verschwunden. Ich dachte an den Gletscher, der mich bedeckte, und er schmolz. Ich fragte mich, wovon leben die großen Tiere zu meinen Füßen, schon fiel das letzte um, mit großem Rumms. "...umms!" sagte ich. Dann war auch das vorbei.

Dann kamt ihr. Zuerst zu Fuß, dann in Bussen. Am Anfang war es noch amüsant. Euer fortwährendes Rufen. Als wolltet ihr mich sprechen lehren, wie einen bunten Vogel. Zugegeben, irgendwann war ich es leid. Als vor kurzem wieder so ein Bus unter mir parkte, dachte ich, gleich klettern sie an dir hoch und brüllen dich an. Unten lief das Autoradio und brachte Werbung. Eine gellende Stimme sang: "Alles muss raus". Ich musste antworten. "Aus", hallte es ins Tal. Und noch mal "Aus, aus, aus". Vielleicht war es mir diesmal etwas zu laut geraten. Die Wanderer erstarrten. Das Radio verstummte. Dann liefen sie weg und verschwanden. Seitdem hab ich nie wieder etwas von euch gehört.

Am Anfang denkt man noch, es läge an einem selbst. Dabei – alles verschwindet. Ihr, und irgendwann ich. Vielleicht kommt noch mal ein bunter Vogel vorbei und ruft mir euer "Hallo" entgegen. Vielleicht seine Nachkommen. Doch dann wird es endgültig still. Die Stille, deren Teil ich bin, macht mich schaudern. Sie wird bleiben. Sonnemondsonnemondsonnemond.

Sebastian Orlac, Berlin 2011

 

 

 

Sven Johne and Rebecca Wilton, Playground, 2011, laserprints, Detail

 

Sven Johne, Traumhotels, 2011, C-Prints und Text

 

Rebecca Wilton, Lichter, 2010, 81 s/w-Dias